2020 7s knocked for 6

2020 7s knocked for 6 as World Rugby cancels tournament

Thanks to the ongoing uncertainty over Covid-19 World Rugby has decided to cancel the remainder of the 2020 Sevens series. There were five tournaments left to play of which one was the Singapore Sevens and the other the flagship Hong Kong Sevens.

“The decision follows detailed and constructive dialogue with the host and participating unions, and has been taken with the health and wellbeing of the rugby community and the wider public as top priority,” said World Rugby’s chairman Bill Beaumont.

This is the first time since the inaugural tournament 45 years ago that Hong Kong has missed its annual Sevens party.

Salt, fish and the battle of Tai O Bay

The tournaments were originally scheduled to take place in April but were postponed until October. They will now revert to their usual slots in April 2021. Tickets sold will be honoured for the new dates or can be fully refunded.

The 2019 series winners were Fiji. The 2020 title has been awarded to the New Zealand All Black who were leading the charge at the time of cancellation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *